Operation Christmas Child 2013

Leave a comment

November 18, 2013 by Musical


Hello Sweetie,

Now is time to start collecting gifties for OCC. So I decided to write a post about Operation Christmas Child in celebration.

Operation Christmas Child

Operation Christmas Child

Operation Christmas Child (OCC for short) Is a non-profit organization. Unlike any other donation, they ask for a simple shoebox filled with wonderful gifts for kids across the world.

This week (November 18-25), is National Collection Week.

Here is a tutorial of how to pack your

shoebox. But first, lets run through a little F.A.Q list about packing your shoebox, that I found on the OCC website.

Q. What Should I put in my shoe box?

A. We have put together a list of suggestions and things to avoid when packing your box.More.

Q. Do I have to use a shoe box?

A. No, you may also use a similarly sized plastic storage container with a removable lid or other similarly sized box.

Q. Can I wrap my shoe box?

A. Yes, but please remember to wrap the lid separately.

Q. Where should I take my finished shoe box?

A. We have drop-off locations around the nation. Find the center closest to you here.

Q.When is the deadline for sending my shoe box to you?

A. National Collection Week is in November, but you may send completed boxes year-round to our headquarters:

Operation Christmas Child
Samaritan’s Purse
P.O. Box 3000
801 Bamboo Road
Boone, NC 28607

Q.Where will my shoe box be delivered?

A. Countries vary from year to year. If you make your donation online, you can discover the destination of your shoe box.

Q. How can I partner with Operation Christmas Child in addition to packing a shoe box?

A. We need volunteers during the months of November and December. For more information, check out our volunteer opportunities page.

Q. What does the $7 cover? Can I send cash?

A. A donation of $7 or more helps us cover project expenses such as shipping the boxes. We prefer that these donations be made by check or by using our online donation option.

Q. If I send more than one box, can I write one check for all of them?

A. Yes, you may write one check for them all and place it in any one of your boxes.

Q.What is the mission of Operation Christmas Child?

A. The mission of Operation Christmas Child is to demonstrate God’s love in a tangible way to needy children around the world, and together with the local church worldwide, to share the Good News of Jesus Christ.

Q. What is Samaritan’s Purse?

A. Samaritan’s Purse is a Christian relief and evangelism organization led by Franklin Graham. Read about our history here.

Now that that is out of the way, lets jump into the packing.

As I said in earlier in the post, the easiest way to get all of the little gifts it to collect them until you have enough. So here is a step-by-step tutorial for packing your shoe box.

1.Buy multiple small gifts. (Such as toys that you would find at a dollar store. I suggest: a Flashlight, Pens, Paper, Stuffed animal, etc..) Make sure you follow the gift guidelines on the bottom of this page.

2. Buy a small box. (You can buy a OCC official shoe box for a couple dollars, online. Or reuse a shoe box you acquired, or buy a plastic box that is shoe box sized.)

3. Pack all of the gifts in your box.

4. (Optional) Place a small personal letter, and photo of yourself in the inside of the box.

5. Print and Tape one of these labels on the top of the finished box, after you have filled it out.

Check out their website to learn more about the operation, and I’m sure they better explain the packing process. 🙂

Keep being crazy, but also live dangerously, and eat your veggies.

Leave a Reply

Musical

I'm a spunky, fun-lovin' 13 year old. I live on a 10 acre mini-farm, with my 5 siblings and 2 parents, Dad, Mom, Russian Panda, Shorty, Alfred, HH, and Klingon, the newest member to our funny little clan. Everyday (since January 2013) I have been wearing a tophat and or bowtie, sometime everyday. I'm hoping my New Year's resolution will last. :3

T Minus…

Copy Writing Is Not Nice!

All of the text, image, or media I produce shall stay mine, and is not yours. If you enjoy my work, please, for the sake of all that is amazing, don't steal it. If you enjoy it, let me know, instead of taking my stuff, I can make new stuff, for everyone to enjoy!
November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Take a Button!

Take a Button!

Please?

I won!

