Recipes, and Packing My Shoe-Box.

Leave a comment

November 18, 2012 by Musical


Packing My Box

As some may have seen, earlier this week I had a post about Operation Christmas Child http://www.samaritanspurse.org/index.php/OCC/). These few days, I have been packing it, and getting my shoebox ready for it’s journey. Since I have done this, I would encourage anyone who is interested, please do a shoebox! I would encourage this so much, that I have set up a little photo thingy/instruction in photos. I shall now start.

1.

Buy bunches of goodies for the child who will be receiving the box. Make sure they fit!

I got these rules from the website:http://www.samaritanspurse.org/index.php/OCC/Pack_A_Shoe_Box/ 

2.

Pack your shoe-box, with all the gifts. (A plastic container with a lid, will work as well, ‘if not better!’ than a shoe box ‘Buy a shoe-box online at: https://www.samaritanspurse.org/index.php/OCC/GO_Box_LandingPage/. Include a letter, and the child may write back!

Put on the lid, and tape on a label. (Print for free at: http://www.samaritanspurse.org/pdf/PackABoxwithLabels.pdf.) Then stick a rubber band around the box.

Your box is now ready to go. I will encourage you to pray for the child who receives it.

Making Dinner

Today for “Making Dinner” (Sorry for the bad quality photos…) My mother prepared:

Chili Supper

In order to make this you need Chili, Whole Wheat Cornbread, and her delicious, Apple Pie.

Easy Chili

This was extremely good, but very thick. Slap some Fritos on there, crunch it up a little, AWESOME. Here’s the recipe:

Easy Chili

2lbs ground beef

3 T minced, dried onions

3 cans chili beans

2 cans kidney beans

1 (15 oz.) can tomato sauce

1 (15 oz.) can water

2-3 T chili powder

2 t. sugar

1 t. salt

Brown beef and onion. Drain.

Mix all ingredients together in large pot.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer about 30 minutes.

Cornbread

This is also extremely delicious. Cut it when it is right out of the oven, spread butter on the bread, and eat it. (But don’t burn your mouth!!) This is a little piece of heaven on a plate. Here’s the recipe:

Whole Wheat Cornbread

1 C (plain) yellow cornmeal

1 C whole wheat flour

1 t. salt

½ stick butter, melted

2 eggs

1 C milk

Preheat oven to 400.

Combine dry ingredients in medium bowl.  Mix remaining ingredients in small bowl.  Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients, stirring until moistened.  Pour into well-greased 8 inch square pan.

Bake approx. 20 minutes.  Serve warm with butter.

Apple Pie

Though the photo is choppy, and not exactly delicious looking, but it’s SPLENDID. Here’s the recipe.

Dutch Apple Pie

2 C all purpose flour

1 C firmly packed brown sugar

½ quick oats

½ t. salt

1 ½ sticks butter, melted

4 C peeled, sliced apples

1 T cornstarch

¾ C white sugar

¼ t. salt

½ C water

½ t. vanilla

Preheat oven to 375.

Combine first 5 ingredients and stir until blended.  Measure 1 ½ C of this mixture and set aside for top of pie.

Press remaining mixture in bottom and up sides of 9 inch pie plate.  Arrange apple slices in pie plate and set aside.

Combine white sugar, cornstarch and salt in a saucepan.  Whisk in water.  Cook over medium heat until mixture boils.  Remove from heat and add vanilla.  Pour hot mixture over apples.  Crumble topping over pie.

Bake uncovered for 40 minutes.  Cover with foil last 15 minutes, if crust begins to brown too much.

Leave a Reply

Musical

I'm a spunky, fun-lovin' 13 year old. I live on a 10 acre mini-farm, with my 5 siblings and 2 parents, Dad, Mom, Russian Panda, Shorty, Alfred, HH, and Klingon, the newest member to our funny little clan. Everyday (since January 2013) I have been wearing a tophat and or bowtie, sometime everyday. I'm hoping my New Year's resolution will last. :3

T Minus…

Copy Writing Is Not Nice!

All of the text, image, or media I produce shall stay mine, and is not yours. If you enjoy my work, please, for the sake of all that is amazing, don't steal it. If you enjoy it, let me know, instead of taking my stuff, I can make new stuff, for everyone to enjoy!
November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Take a Button!

Take a Button!

Please?

I won!

