Concoctions

Leave a comment

October 8, 2012 by Musical


Wakey, Wakey Eggs In Bakey Casserole

This is one of my family’s favorite recipes, so I have decided to share it with you. Enjoy!

1 lb bacon, coarsely chopped, or bulk pork sausage (IMO, use bacon…I’ve tried sausage in the past–too greasy)

6 (1 inch) slices French bread (I will be trying this w/ my homemade bread soon)

2 T butter, softened

1 C shredded Co-Jack or American cheese (I used Co-Jack.  Yum.)

1/2 C chopped green onions (I used 2 t. dried chives…it’s what I had on hand)

6 eggs, lightly beaten

1 1/2 C whipping cream, half and half, light cream or whole milk (I went for the gusto with whipping cream)

3/4 to 1 t. dry mustard

1/2 t. salt (IMPORTANT: as I cooked the bacon, I could smell how salty it was, so I didn’t add this salt…it’s a good thing)

1/4 t. black pepper

 

In a large skillet, cook bacon over medium heat until crisp.  Drain on paper towels.  Meanwhile, grease a 2 qt. baking dish; set aside.  Spread one side of bread slices with butter. Cut bread into 1-inch cubes.  Place half of the bread cubes in the prepared baking dish.  Sprinkle with half the bacon.  Top with the remaining bread cubes and the remaining bacon; sprinkle with cheese and green onions.  In a bowl, whisk together eggs, whipping cream, dry mustard, salt (CAUTION!), and pepper.  Gradually pour egg mixture over layers in dish.  Cover with plastic wrap and chill for at least 2 hours (I chilled overnight.)  To bake:  Preheat oven to 325*.  Bake, uncovered for 50-55 minutes or until center is set (170*F).  Let stand for 10 minutes before serving.  Makes 6-8 (filling!) servings.

 

I have been working on an assignment I was given by my wonderful Debate teacher. I need to write a case, I decided on one about Pluto. This sparked a question on my imaginative brain: “Why was Pluto degraded to a asteroid?” Well, I did some looking and I found out the story behind it all. As Wikipedia.com said: “The issue was brought to a head by the discovery of Eris, an object in the scattered disc far beyond the Kuiper belt, that is now known to be 27 percent more massive than Pluto.[77] In response, the International Astronomical Union (IAU), was forced to define what a planet isfor the first time, and in so doing included in their definition that a planet must have “cleared the neighbourhood around its orbit”.[78] As Pluto shared its orbit with so many KBOs, it was deemed not to have cleared its orbit, and was thus reclassified from a planet to a member of the Kuiper belt.” well I guess that explains a bunch right there. But, I couldn’t just leave it there, I had started to find some good stuff, I had to keep going. I learned some facts about Pluto, such as: Pluto was originally going to be named just a bunch of numbers, but then a little girl suggested that it was to be called Pluto. They liked it, and it stuck. The person who found Pluto was: Clyde Tombaugh.

If you ever want to learn anything else about my post, just ask, I will answer. Or if you just wanted to learn more about Pluto, you could ask me to make a sequel post, or just as easily, look it up on wikipedia.

 

Blowing Up a Balloon 

This is a fun activity for kids for all ages, and it is super easy!

Ingredients:

Vinegar,

Baking Soda,

Empty Water Bottle.

This is quite hard to do wrong, so, I am not going to be very descriptive. Get out your water bottle, (It needs to be completely empty of water.) pour in about 2 inches of vinegar (White, and Apple Cider Vinegar will both work.). Leave that alone, and pick up the balloon, put a small funnel inside it, count to four as you pour baking soda in it, stick that balloon onto your bottle, shake it around a bit, and watch in wonder as your balloon inflates!!

Leave a Reply

Musical

I'm a spunky, fun-lovin' 13 year old. I live on a 10 acre mini-farm, with my 5 siblings and 2 parents, Dad, Mom, Russian Panda, Shorty, Alfred, HH, and Klingon, the newest member to our funny little clan. Everyday (since January 2013) I have been wearing a tophat and or bowtie, sometime everyday. I'm hoping my New Year's resolution will last. :3

T Minus…

Copy Writing Is Not Nice!

All of the text, image, or media I produce shall stay mine, and is not yours. If you enjoy my work, please, for the sake of all that is amazing, don't steal it. If you enjoy it, let me know, instead of taking my stuff, I can make new stuff, for everyone to enjoy!
October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Take a Button!

Take a Button!

Please?

I won!

